A New Start

That bottle of memories, they’re pouring out like wine, crimson and bittersweet.

Ignoring the throbbing pain.

The pain that always feels constant.

The way his touch caressed your face felt comforting and safe.

Then one day the feeling of his touch stops.

Memories flash back of his laugh and smile.

And don’t forget the memories of every time you both said I love you.

You remember the excitement you felt when you saw him walking towards you or when he pulled up in his blue mustang.

And no matter how many times you told him to get a front seat he would just look over at you and laugh knowing how much it bothered you.

And it’s that laugh that you fell in love with.

You see couples walk by holding hands and laughing and all you can think is that it was supposed to be you  and him.

Not a day goes by where you don’t crave his touch.

Not a day goes by where is hurts any less.

You walk around your room finding things that belong to him and not being able to bring yourself to throw them out.

Even the sheets smell of him.

The night that he text you the night everything changed you were wearing his hoodie.

You were so in chock you sat there till it hit you.

You started crying and screaming what did I do.

You were so confused the last thing he said to you was goodnight I love you.

The you I’m talking about in the story is me .

The recovery from heartache is not easy but not impossible.

I miss him dearly but love will come again.

Love is a complicated thing.

But there is someone out there who will love me fir me.

And when I’m all dressed in white I’ll know that its meant to be.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar